November 11th, 2023 -
BLOG GET! + Thinking About It

❇●❇●❇●❇

So, as of writing this I've been working pretty much non-stop (since yesterday) on re-doing my site layout (thank you ms. sadgrlonline for the layout builder it's a good base), and I've finally gotten around to adding a blog even though I dooon't really think I'm a blogger kind of person.

For, like, the longest time, I had this app on my phone called Daylio that was meant to be, like, a journalling/wellness app. You could set goals with it and write journal entries with images attached, and it tried to incentivise you to journal every day by giving you a 'streak' to keep up.

It was a pretty forgiving streak, too- if you missed a day you were still allowed to go back and post entries for days you missed, and if you filled in the blanks it'd bring your streak up to what it would've been if you really did do it every day.

There was no minimum wordcount, either. You didn't actually have to write anything, just tap a button recording your mood. It really was just "check in every day!" and that's that.

And it did help me! Journalling actually does a lot to help me get my thoughts in order, and during the time when I started using the app (February 2020) I was suffering a lot from stress-induced memory loss/brain fog, so it felt grounding to be able to look at my Daylio and see little reminders of what had happened in my life (and more importantly when).

But...around August 2022 I fell off, and though I picked it up again in early 2023 I fell off again around June and felt too genuinely disheartened with myself to open up the app again (until now as I write this, of course).

I guess all that to say I have trouble consistently updating things, and more than that I consistently have trouble putting things into words. I remember part of the reason I fell off was because I wanted to have reminders of what I did on the days I missed, but just the thought of writing the Tiniest Note would be too overwhelming, so I'd leave it and leave it until I straight up didn't remember anymore.

So...I've never thought of myself as someone who could keep up a regular blog.

And maybe I'm not, you know? But as I was rehauling the site, I realized that I really like having a space where I can just write stuff, and there's actually no reason for me to hold myself back from carving that space out!

Like. Who cares, even? It's my website. I can do what I want. Even if I might want the validation from having my work acknowledged, that's no reason to sanitize my own personal website to only stuff I'd feel confident about showing my family or whatever.

I like my site. A lot. I'm glad I got back to working on it.

❇●❇●❇●❇

When I decided to overhaul my website yesterday I did it specifically because my friend Luca had brought up sadgrl.online's layout builder (linked further up) a few days before.

Like, I had a look at it, went "huh this is really similar to the layout my site already had but cleaner" and then decided to switch all my code around on impulse.

And I think it looks good! The comments provided with the generated code helped a lot in figuring out what was what, and since Luca was messing with still as-of-yet unveiled pages on their site we got to put our heads together and do some New Stuff with it all.

I also decided to go through the trouble of putting my homepage through the WAVE accessibility tool to try and make it better for people with screenreaders/make sure my text contrast was good, because I Really Like People.


All my little decorations are a pain in the ass in that regard, but I reasoned most of the decoration wasn't really...important to viewing my page so I forwent alt text in favor of keeping things easy for screen readers to get through.

I still haven't put any of my other pages through the tool yet, mostly because I know if I do I'll sink my whole weekend into it (and I have other obligations!!)

Still, I do intend to, even if I don't see any payoff from it.

I also changed the site font from Verdana to Montserrat? Because I use Montserrat on my carrd (that I also need to do a little overhaul on, there's some scuffed parts there). I like the consistency.

(The blog gets Arial though because I genuinely write too much for Montserrat to be legible even if it's supposed to be friendly.)

(・・;)

Otherwise I think the layout is mostly the same as the old one...the old on is on the internet archive if you want to check it out, actually, I checked in the middle of editing the new landing page because I realized I could make an archive if it wasn't.

Anyway. I think I've rambled enough- this post is actually sucks to read by this point. I'm proud of myself for the work I've done recently, even if it's not the stuff I need to get done.

Love you. Bye. :]

❇●❇●❇●❇

Click here to go back to the blog archive.